The Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity

        2016 Winners

The Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity is pleased to congratulate the 2016 winners of The Elie Wiesel Foundation Prize in Ethics Essay Contest

Click on the essay titles to read this years winning essays!
To view previous years' winners, click here

First Prize ($5,000):
Micah Latty
"Welcoming Silence"
Bethel University

Second Prize ($2,500):
Dana Kiel
"The Great Race: Equal Opportunity in a Land of Inequality"
University of Denver

Third Prize ($1,500):
Luiza Lodder
"Staying or Going: The Ethics of Mobility, National Identity, and Citizenship"
Pennsylvania State University

Honorable Mention ($500 each):
Devon Flanagan
"A Cigarette Jar and Dirty Hands: The Ethics of Defense"
Boston University


Eliah Medina
"Open Carry Closes Discussions"
University of Houston- Clear Lake

*Please note that all essays are the property of The Elie Wiesel Foundation for Humanity and may not be published elsewhere without written permission from the Foundation. All views and opinions expressed in the winning essays are those of the individual writers. The Foundation does not necessarily share these views.

Elie Wiesel logo